I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 124-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
Chris M. Dueñas
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. M. Silva Taijeron Aline A.Yamashita, Ph.D. Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

v. c. pangelinan

Relative to commending and congratulating the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of its Golden Anniversary celebration, and to expressing a most sincere *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* to its members for fifty (50) years of service to our island community.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

2

- 3 WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) was founded in
- 4 1962 by a diverse group of women, led then by Bea Macaraeg, with the assistance of
- 5 Mrs. Ligaya Fruto, with the aim to foster unity and encourage the growth of new

1 friendships and bonds among members, as well as to conserve and improve existing

2 bonds between the members and the people of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam also aims to cooperate with the duly constituted authorities of Guam and other organizations in the promotion of civic, social and moral welfare in the community; and

WHEREAS, FLAG was also established to undertake projects that promote and enhance the positive image of Filipinos and Filipino-Americans, and to create awareness of Filipino traditions, values, culture, language and history, with a direct and specific investment in the personal and professional well-being of women of Filipino descent; and

WHEREAS, the founding members of FLAG included many prominent Guam residents: Fe Lamorena, Juling Illarmo, Mona Young, Josephine Diaz, Pacita Abelardo, Tinay Gamboa, Connie Pabalinas, Ligaya Fruto, Rea Macaraeg, Mercedes Edwina Jose, Polly Amistad, Carmina Schnabel, Remedios Gabriel, Teresita Sison, Teresing Salvador, Josephine Diaz, Carmen dela Cruz, Connie Tolentino, Candy Bagan, Luz Aquino, Ginny Godoy, Mely Pengson and Virgie Simmons; and

WHEREAS, in order to promote awareness of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam within the island community, the members of FLAG have taken an active role in several activities this year, chief among them being participating in the "Boot Drive" to help raise funds for the natural disasters that devastated Japan, as well as donating several thousand dollars to the Japan Club of Guam in support of the relief efforts; providing support during the Women's History Month proclamation signing and luncheon; co-sponsoring the Women's Art Show; and participating in the Earth Month "Junk to Funk" recyclable fashion show; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam has also dedicated their time, efforts, and finances in support of several Guam landmarks, including the

1 revolving statue of the late Pope John Paul II, as well as the *Ypao* Beach Sampaguita

2 Pavilion; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam is led by a system of rotating presidents who are chosen from among the Board of Trustees, whose membership consists of the following members: Annie Hernandez-Lumba, Annie Gozum-Soto, Lynda Tolan, Nilda Estampador, Aurora Leonen, Chet Brocka-Neri, Sabina Tamondong, Patricia Birosel, Teresita Swift, Rita Dominguez, Rose Hidalgo, Adelia Custodio, Aida Miranda, Mimi Jardiolin, Gloria Baguinon and Fe Dionisio-Singh; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules, on behalf of *I Mina'trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, does hereby recognize and commend the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of its Golden Anniversary celebration; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules, on behalf of *I Mina'trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, does hereby express a most sincere *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase* to the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam for fifty (50) years of service to our island community; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attests to the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 27th DAY OF MAY 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D

Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary